Do it yourself

April 22nd, 2015 at 5:05:35 PM permalink
rxwine
Threads: 188
Quote: Fleastiff
Speaking of showers...

Anybody know about these universal one control showers: Push for off, Pull for On, Twist Right for Colder, Twist Left for Hotter (Lol, hotter? with my landlord?? Hah.).

What do you do when you push and push and it won't turn off?

Before you consider it leaky, try opening it up a few times and shutting it off. Then wait awhile and check and see if it is still dripping later.
You believe in an invisible god, and dismiss people who say they are trans? Really?
April 22nd, 2015 at 9:20:11 PM permalink
Face
Threads: 61
Quote: petroglyph
Sounds like the fixture will have to be changed,...

Probably this, although I have little experience in this department. The only thing I can suggest other than full replacement is to check it over for loose screws / parts. Usually the handle you manipulate is a separate piece from that which actually opens and closes the water, so if it comes loose or misaligned, it will turn/push/pull but the piece that actually does the action won't. I seem to be very hard on showers, usually from not being able to move properly and banging into stuff. Every shower problem I've had has been the result of knocking something loose.
Be bold and risk defeat, or be cautious and encourage it.
April 26th, 2015 at 4:50:15 PM permalink
AZDuffman
Threads: 135
Need some advice on carpentry here. My mother has asked me to build a ramp for both my dad and the dog, both having a hard time getting up the front step. It will be constructed of wood. Here are the specifics:

The total drop is a touch under 9" but call is 8.
It will be 5' wide so as to leave plenty of room such that nobody will fall off and eliminate the need for a railing, which I really do not want to add fro such a small vertical drop.