Gigafactory

May 22nd, 2017 at 7:29:29 AM permalink
reno
Threads: 58
Quote: AZDuffman
There always seems to be some person thinking people will just fall in love with EVs all of the sudden. Renault half bet the companies on the idea. Yet they remain a niche.

Perhaps I'm blinded by my own ideological bias, but hear me out.

I've been leasing a 100% electric Kia since February 2016. In early May 2017, I spent a week in Los Angeles driving a rented 2017 BMW (gasoline engine.)

The Kia vastly outperforms the BMW, it was no contest. Smoother, quieter, quicker response, no vibrations. To be fair, the BMW offered a luxury experience, I'm not disparaging it.

I'm not talking about exhaust pollution or liberals' global warming hysteria-- I'm talking about sitting in the driver's seat and hitting the pedal. Once you spend some time driving an EV, there's no going back to gasoline.
May 22nd, 2017 at 7:30:19 AM permalink
Nareed
Threads: 346
Quote: reno
Why would the French oil company Total be predicting 15 to 30% market share for EVs in 2030? From Total's perspective, it's bad news for demand for their product.

Depends, are the there any oil-fired or natural gas electric plants in France, or other countries where Total does business? France isn't' exactly an oil/gas producer, so I'm guessing Total buys crude and distributes refined products, maybe refines it as well. If they also invest in other energy types, well...

Electric car use will spread far and wide when three things happen: 1) they drop in price to a point comparable to today's cars, including energy costs (that is, filling up the tank and charging the battery cost roughly the same), 2) you can drive on as you do a gas car, meaning you need not worry about running out of juice far from a charging station, and 3) charging the battery takes about as long as filling up the tank.
Donald Trump is a one-term LOSER
May 22nd, 2017 at 12:45:20 PM permalink
Pacomartin
Threads: 1068