Gigafactory

May 23rd, 2017 at 11:37:21 AM permalink
reno
Threads: 58
Quote: kenarman
There are actually already 35 hydrogen fueling stations in the US. Almost all of them in southern California.

True. To put it in perspective, the U.S. currently has 15,961 EV charging stations open to the public. Not to mention millions of houses with electricity in the garage.
May 23rd, 2017 at 3:29:37 PM permalink
AZDuffman
Threads: 135
Quote: reno
Perhaps I'm blinded by my own ideological bias, but hear me out.

I've been leasing a 100% electric Kia since February 2016. In early May 2017, I spent a week in Los Angeles driving a rented 2017 BMW (gasoline engine.)

The Kia vastly outperforms the BMW, it was no contest. Smoother, quieter, quicker response, no vibrations. To be fair, the BMW offered a luxury experience, I'm not disparaging it.

I'm not talking about exhaust pollution or liberals' global warming hysteria-- I'm talking about sitting in the driver's seat and hitting the pedal. Once you spend some time driving an EV, there's no going back to gasoline.

Electric motors respond better than internal combustion engines. This is old news. Refueling remains the issue. It will remain the issue.

While I am typing this some think tank is predicting auto sales to consumers fall to near zero by 2030 and we will all hire Ubers or something. It is not adding up.
The President is a fink.
May 23rd, 2017 at 11:19:37 PM permalink
Fleastiff
Threads: 62
Or maybe too gentrified to ever drive anywhere with automobiles being a 'country' think such as horses.
May 24th, 2017 at 3:52:45 AM permalink
AZDuffman
Quote: Fleastiff
Or maybe too gentrified to ever drive anywhere with automobiles being a 'country' think such as horses.
6-8 year