Product Recommendation for the frugal

January 11th, 2018 at 3:13:13 AM permalink
Pacomartin
Threads: 1068
I have no personal experience with the product because it is not on sale for another month, but at $99 it is probably worth taking a risk.

Channel Master has introduced a two channel "over the air" recording device combined with the ability to stream services like Netflix (plus support Google Chrome).
Channel Master's previous product which was far less capable cost $250. This one is being offered for $99 "Special introductory price" if you buy before the actual sale introduction in February.

You probably won't get it delivered until April.

The storage drive is not included, but you can buy a microSD card for $13 to $300. I would start small at first because Channel Master states that USB
functionality will be coming soon which should be cheaper than high storage micro SD cards. The original micro SD card can probably be re-used for a phone or camera after you upgrade.
https://www.channelmaster.com/Stream_Plus_p/cm-7600.htm

what makes the Channel Master so competitive on price is you can buy your own storage media and spend a lot less if you just want a few hours of storage.

A similar product from TiVo witha 1 terabyte drive costs $400 (4 tuners)
https://www.techhive.com/article/3062107/streaming-hardware/tivo-revamps-its-roamio-ota-set-top-box-and-drops-the-subscription-charge.html
January 11th, 2018 at 5:55:41 AM permalink
Pacomartin
Threads: 1068
https://www.cnet.com/news/roku-tvs-can-now-pause-live-over-the-air-tv/

For the even more frugal the best buy is $169.99 for a TCL - 32" Class - LED - 720p - Smart - HDTV Roku TV Model: 32S305SKU.