Shutdown

Page 4 of 7<1234567>
January 22nd, 2018 at 2:31:15 PM permalink
petroglyph
Threads: 25
Quote: SOOPOO
Quote: petroglyph
How did people that came here illegally, [Dreamers] become legal?

As i said, I'm no expert, but I believe there are simple forms they had to fill out, and under DACA became legal. They had to prove their age and when they arrived, I think.
I don't know either. But it does make me feel empathy for all those people that have tried to get here the legitimate way. Why would anybody ever, that wants to come here, wait their turn again? This giving amnesty, [which is where this will end up] was supposed to be over the last time, during Reagan. Same BS, different day.

Everybody that follows the rules gets ooh-scrayed.
The last official act of any government is to loot the treasury. GW
January 22nd, 2018 at 2:53:46 PM permalink
SOOPOO
Threads: 22
Quote: SOOPOO

As i said, I'm no expert, but I believe there are simple forms they had to fill out, and under DACA became legal. They had to prove their age and when they arrived, I think.
I don't know either. But it does make me feel empathy for all those people that have tried to get here the legitimate way. Why would anybody ever, that wants to come here, wait their turn again? This giving amnesty, [which is where this will end up] was supposed to be over the last time, during Reagan. Same BS, different day.

Everybody that follows the rules gets ooh-scrayed.

Yeah, that is my problem with it too. Sort of like the baseball player who did not do steroids that barely missed the major leagues while a slightly naturally less talented player leap-frogged him by doing steroids. You may think the illegal alien 'harmed no one', but I can assure you if there were no illegal aliens we would admit more legally. The guy waiting on the queue is harmed.
January 22nd, 2018 at 3:39:04 PM permalink
Dalex64
Threads: 3
DACA applies to people arrived in the US before age 16 and have lived here since June 15, 2007.