Forking a repo

March 22nd, 2013 at 11:57:29 AM permalink
Pacomartin
Threads: 1068
Forking a repo is legitimate software terminology. It means to take a copy of another person or group's software (repository) so as to continue development independently.

Recently a woman took a picture of two geeky looking guys at a tech convention, and complained that they were making jokes about "Forking a repo" and "Big dongles". Now we all know that it is often kids and nerds make jokes about legitimate words that sound off-color. When I was a math teacher, I had to teach kids what a latus rectum was (it's a chord through a focus parallel to the conic section directrix). You naturally expect the braniac in the back of the room to make some stupid joke out loud (as if the rest of the class couldn't figure it out for themselves).

I can't believe two people with kids were fired over this incident. Most math majors remember this poster from about 45-50 years ago. Would it be a crime today?

March 22nd, 2013 at 2:52:40 PM permalink
TheCesspit
Threads: 23
Do you have a reference for this?

I forked our repo's just yesterday, by the way. If anyone wants to fire me over that.
It is said that your life flashes before your eyes just before you die.... it's called Life
March 23rd, 2013 at 9:29:42 AM permalink
1nickelmiracle
Threads: 24
The lady who posted this was probably secretly hoping to get fired in order to file a lawsuit. I bet Gloria Aldred is already representing her.
Maybe it's just the social media attention everyone seeks now, but making a big deal about people enjoying themselves with humor is outlandish. They don't work for or with her and owe her nothing.
March 23rd, 2013 at 8:49:03 PM permalink
Pacomartin
Quote: TheCesspit
Do you have a reference for this?

I forked our repo's just yesterday, by the way. If anyone wants to fire me over that.

Donglegate

But did you snigger when you said it?
March 25th, 2013 at 10:30:31 AM permalink
TheCesspit
Threads: 23