I need you to come into work this weekend

July 2nd, 2019 at 5:28:43 PM permalink
kenarman
Threads: 14
Quote: Mosca
I make my living by asking for the business.

From the little I know about you Mosca you appear to be a successful salesman. Do you think that top salesman are born or trained? I think that you can make an adequate salesman with training but you will never make a top salesman from someone without the 'sales gene'.
"but if you make yourselves sheep, the wolves will eat you." Benjamin Franklin
July 2nd, 2019 at 7:27:36 PM permalink
Mosca
Threads: 22
Quote: kenarman
From the little I know about you Mosca you appear to be a successful salesman. Do you think that top salesman are born or trained? I think that you can make an adequate salesman with training but you will never make a top salesman from someone without the 'sales gene'.

Man. I’ve seen both. I don’t think I’m a natural. Sales is not what people think it is. I see it as mostly showing people the right choices and then getting out of their way. You don’t sell; you let them buy. But I’m not a hail-fellow-well-met, life of the party guy. I’m not a type A personality. I turn it on and off as needed, but my natural state is quiet and thoughtful. I don’t like parties, I don’t seek out other people. Other people are okay, but I prefer solitude.

So to answer your question: I think anyone can do it, but most people don’t want to. Desire is a huge component of success, so that’s the reason most people aren’t interested.

To address your “adequate vs top” hypothesis, in general I agree with you. For me, I absolutely hate losing, and I hate not being the best. That drives me to be better than I should be. I need a little bit more time than the type A guys. In the short run, they beat me. But at the end of the year, I’ll compare W2s with any of them.
July 2nd, 2019 at 8:12:00 PM permalink
kenarman
Threads: 14