Yummy Junk Food

Page 1 of 212>
June 5th, 2013 at 11:11:09 PM permalink
JB
Administrator
Threads: 10
Poutine

Anyone else a fan of poutine? There are two places near me which offer it, a restaurant and a pizzeria. The restaurant serves real poutine, and it's excellent. The pizzeria serves what they call poutine, but what is really just fries with cheese and a light gravy. Real poutine uses cheese curds (not fully-finished/processed cheese), and the gravy should be dark and thick. I'm not Canadian, and have never been to Quebec, so I am by no means an expert on poutine quality, but I can't imagine a better poutine than the version served by the restaurant near me.

Gelato

If you like ice cream and have never tried gelato, you need to. It's healthier than ice cream, since it uses more milk than cream, and when it's made properly it tastes far creamier and richer than ice cream, despite the fact that it has less fat and fewer calories.

One thing I neglected to mention in my Foxwoods review is that the gelato offered in their Gelato Café is probably among the best in the country. My first gelato exposure was at Foxwoods, and ever since then I have been trying to find gelato of comparable quality. When I stayed at the Bellagio in Vegas last year I went to their Gelato Café, and the "gelato" there was awful! It had the consistency and air content/density of cheap ice cream. I did find a gelato shop in Hanover NH (Morano Gelato) whose gelato quality is very close to that of Foxwoods, but the gelato at Foxwoods is still #1 (so far) in my book.

Gelato cannot be frozen and thawed without ruining it. Never, ever, ever buy something being passed off as "gelato" from the freezer section of your local grocery store!
June 6th, 2013 at 12:47:31 AM permalink
1nickelmiracle
Threads: 24
I like Jelly Belly jelly beans. My favorite flavor to discover is birthday cake, which tastes like frosting.

Demet's Turtles also. Milk Chocolate, pecans and caramel.