Maternity/Paternity Leave

Page 5 of 8« First<2345678>
November 4th, 2021 at 9:51:38 AM permalink
AZDuffman
Threads: 135
Quote: gamerfreak
I just got married, my wife earns significantly more than I do.

Paternity leave is to help the mother recover and bond with the child. It is absolutely a should be considered necessity.

Work should not be fetishized. It is a means to an end. Family should always come before work, it’s not even a question.

Traditional conservatives who still care about family values are on board with paternity leave.

You want to stay home with family, fine. Just quit demanding someone pay you to sit at home with them.
The President is a fink.
November 4th, 2021 at 9:58:23 AM permalink
gamerfreak
Threads: 4
Quote: AZDuffman
You want to stay home with family, fine. Just quit demanding someone pay you to sit at home with them.

As a STEM professional my skills are in high demand. So I absolutely can, and do, demand to be paid to stay home with my family (should I decide to have children).

If my current employer didn’t agree with that, I can easily find one that will.

That’s how the labor market works.
November 4th, 2021 at 10:03:51 AM permalink
Mission146
Administrator
Threads: 23
As a STEM professional my skills are in high demand. So I absolutely can, and do, demand to be paid to stay home with my family (should I decide to have children).

If my current employer didn’t agree with that, I can easily find one that will.

That’s how the labor market works.

Labor market works two ways, demand and supply. You're supplying a labor commodity that is not easy to come by, so that puts you in a position to demand an employer who will give you what you want.

For various reasons, some employees are more sought after than others. The ones who are not as valuable (exist in greater supply) aren't in a position to make the same demands. That's how the labor market works.