So I bought a tablet....

Page 1 of 212>
September 4th, 2013 at 8:44:17 AM permalink
Nareed
Threads: 346
I got last year's model of the Nexus 7. I wish I could say more right now, but I'm still learning the OS and the peculiarities of touch.

The first thing I did was download Audible, which worked fine. The scond thing was Kindle, which required nearly 45 minutes of fighting Amazon's defaults to get the Kindle store to display English titles only. I know the "app," or the website, reads my location. I've had this problem before with websites. It should also read the OS language (I set it up in English). If I were interested in books in Spanish, I wouldn't need Kindle or Amazon. There are local options for that.

The first thing I noticed is that my observations on touch screens are correct: it's limited, not better or even equal to a mouse and keybaord, and it's not good for serious work. To begin with the 7" screen isn't conducive to work, but the touch keybaord is not very good for much typing either.

The second thing I noticed is that I reflexively focus my eyesight differently when using the tablet.

The third thing I noticed is that a tablet is largely useless without an internet connection. We have WiFi at work, but I need to jump through hoops and do sumersaults in order to get access. No thanks. I will be lugging it to work daily ony in case I have to leave on an unexpected trip. I figure the tablet is more convenient for web browsing and checking email than a laptop anyway. That was the point of getting one to begin with.

I figure, too, I will download some games and other things that don't require an ever-present internet connection. Audible works perfectly well without one, once you've downloaded some content. Since I'll be lugging it around, too, I'll use it to listen to podcasts while driving as well, and relegate the MP3 player to workout duty.