Food stamps=lobster & steak

November 2nd, 2012 at 5:46:02 PM permalink
aceofspades
Threads: 83
If only I could live this type of lifestyle. Lobster & Steak Article

November 2nd, 2012 at 5:50:12 PM permalink
FarFromVegas
Threads: 3
The article says he sold the food for cash, so it's not like he was eating like a king. He was...entrepreneurial.
This space for rent
November 2nd, 2012 at 5:55:10 PM permalink
rdw4potus
Threads: 10
This or something like it happened allllll the time when I was a grocery store manager. Most frequently, people would buy something (not this extreme) with food stamps, "lose" the receipt, and return the item for store credit. Then they'd use the credit for booze or smokes.
I'm not wearing any pants, film at 11
November 2nd, 2012 at 6:02:40 PM permalink
FarFromVegas
Quote: rdw4potus
This or something like it happened allllll the time when I was a grocery store manager. Most frequently, people would buy something (not this extreme) with food stamps, "lose" the receipt, and return the item for store credit. Then they'd use the credit for booze or smokes.

So it was like playing Supermarket Sweep, only for real, huh?
This space for rent
November 2nd, 2012 at 6:05:07 PM permalink
Mission146
Administrator
Threads: 23

Our policy on FS transactions was, "No receipt, no return." We really weren't terribly concerned about losing that person's business.
"War is the remedy that our enemies have chosen..let us give them all they want." William T. Sherman
November 2nd, 2012 at 6:07:55 PM permalink
rdw4potus
Quote: Mission146
Our policy on FS transactions was, "No receipt, no return." We really weren't terribly concerned about losing that person's business.

But isn't that exactly why the receipt is "lost?" That's the only way (other than memory) to know the method of purchase.
November 2nd, 2012 at 6:16:22 PM permalink
FarFromVegas
But isn't that exactly why the receipt is "lost?" That's the only way (other than memory) to know the method of purchase.