Do it yourself

April 14th, 2015 at 7:37:30 AM permalink
kenarman
Threads: 14
Breakers are much more convenient than fuses and can do some things that fuses can't such as ground fault interuption and arc fault tripping. Arc fault breakers handle the problem mentioned earlier in the thread about a specific area overheating from a poor connection but not drawing over the amperage rating of the breaker so a regular breaker (or fuse) won't trip.

EB is right on faulty breakers most studies put the number of faulty breakers currently installed at between 25% and 40% of all breakers installed. Most of them will still trip but not within factory specs. Faulty fuses are very rare.

Not sure why you kept all your old fuses EB. I have been an electrician for over 50 years and have made dozens of chargeable service calls to solve someones problem after the "new" fuse they put in ended up being an old blown fuse they had kept around for some reasons.
"but if you make yourselves sheep, the wolves will eat you." Benjamin Franklin
April 14th, 2015 at 8:31:09 AM permalink
AZDuffman
Threads: 135
Quote: kenarman

EB is right on faulty breakers most studies put the number of faulty breakers currently installed at between 25% and 40% of all breakers installed. Most of them will still trip but not within factory specs. Faulty fuses are very rare.

I was just discussing if this could happen. My upstairs unit had a breaker trip a few times the past month when it never would before. I pre-wired a circuit for a dishwasher and will be adding a plug for just the fridge so it does not trip. I think I will change the breaker now knowing this.
The President is a fink.
April 14th, 2015 at 3:49:33 PM permalink
DRich
Threads: 51
Let me preface this that I am not much of a "do it yourself" guy.