Car Culture

Page 6 of 7« First<34567>
April 28th, 2016 at 9:19:21 AM permalink
terapined
Threads: 73
Quote: Ayecarumba
What has replaced the car as status symbol amongst the yoots?

Phones and hi-end sports shoes
Sometimes we live no particular way but our own - Grateful Dead "Eyes of the World"
April 28th, 2016 at 10:24:29 AM permalink
DRich
Threads: 51
Quote: Ayecarumba
Cars used to be status symbols amongst the teens. Expensive, fastest, lowest, highest... While street racing still exists (fatalities go up every summer), cruising isn't as wide spread. What has replaced the car as status symbol amongst the yoots?

I would guess phones.
At my age a Life In Prison sentence is not much of a detrrent.
April 28th, 2016 at 3:18:29 PM permalink
Face
Threads: 61
Quote: Evenbob
I graduated in 67. In HS you wanted anything
that got you where you were going. As soon
as you're out of HS, you wanted either a
muscle car, or a souped up 55 or 57 Chevy.

Jesus. It just sunk in that Pops is 60. AND that you're not an old man. Worlds are colliding, here @.@

Yup. Though that wasn't my age, I grew up with a father who was still in that age lol. A to B from about age 5 to 15 was done in the back of a '72 Cuda. 'Cept winter when the Cuda would go up, then out came the 442. Not a 90's 442 4 banger job, either. 70's. A V-8 volcano for winter lol.

I remember he was fishtailing down the back roads at midnight, killing time 'til mom got out of work. Overcooked it and put it in a ditch. Tried to rock it; way too deep. So he, in his infinite wisdom, plops me behind the wheel. "Just give it gas. The skinny pedal. If the car moves, let off."

I was four! And I stood on that sumbitch; if he'd have loosed her I'd have been doing 20 by the time I hit the other side, and hit the other side I would have! XD

Mom with the 5.0 Indy Pace car, uncle with the '71 R/T 440 'vert. That was "normal". That's how you got around, went for groceries and s#$%, to little league, to grandma's house. /sigh.