Ukraine conflict

March 18th, 2022 at 4:45:50 AM permalink
RonC
Threads: 8
Quote: rxwine
I don't tend to buy reasoning that Russia will be ready to move on other countries in the region any time soon, though I understand the incentive by Ukrainian supporters to push that view.

That they may accidently involve nearby countries seems a more reasonable worry.

It's pretty sad that even in the best case scenario, they will have destroyed a lot of property, and killed plenty on both sides even if they pulled back today.

And all for what?

Based on what is going on in Ukraine, it seems like Russia would have a hard time prosecuting an expanding war in Europe with conventional weapons. They have a large military but beyond the professionals, a lot of conscripts who are not as well trained in war fighting skills are part of their numbers based on what I see reported. I am not an expert on their military forces, but it just seems like they are not doing a good job at executing their original plan or at adapting to a different plan....in fighting battles, the first plan usually has a problem when initial contact is made; leaders must quickly react and change the plan to match what happens on the field of battle.

That makes Putin's desires even more dangerous. If he can't succeed conventionally, he may use the weapons of mass destruction. That is a horrible possibility.

Even if this attack stopped today, the damage to the Ukraine in both life and property has already been immense.
March 18th, 2022 at 4:59:03 AM permalink
rxwine
Threads: 189
Quote: RonC

That makes Putin's desires even more dangerous. If he can't succeed conventionally, he may use the weapons of mass destruction. That is a horrible possibility.

What would happen if he unleashed several nuclear weapons is easier to guess than a limited use.

What if he took out most of Kiev with one but nothing else?