Evolution and the Pope

November 18th, 2014 at 1:13:59 PM permalink
FrGamble
Threads: 67
Quote: Nareed
Goal posts. I'm familiar with that sound.

It is a grind sometimes.

Quote:

I can agree with that. More so since I studied there (which is why I know the story).

So you are familiar with Don Eugenio Garza Sada and his story.

Quote:

I can see goal posts moving south for the winter...

They didn't derive some benefit. They set up the whole thing entirely for their own benefit.

Naturally they offered something of value in return. Had they not, their entire enterprise would have failed.

I hate to educate you on your school but it was not set up only for their own benefit. There was never a requirement that those who got degrees from there had to work in certain factories. You simply don't set up a university just for your own benefit. You do that because you care about education, you want people locally in your community to be educated, you want to serve. In fact the current philosophy of said university is "to serve".

Quote:

This is eminently sensible of them. A good engineer can come from any background, It would be wasteful to summarily dismiss good candidates because they can't pay tuition. People in business tend to think in the long term. A scholarship fund is a good investment, not a sacrifice.

It is also eminently Christian of them to do this too. Good business people who are concerned for others think this way.

Quote:

But they sacrificed nothing, suffered nothing and acted for their own benefit. How can that be good?

You are right that would not be good, but that is NOT the case at all in the above example you gave.

Quote:

I've never been a criminal of any sort. Last I checked, I've never been crucified, either.

You are a hard worker though.
“It is with the smallest brushes that the artist paints the most exquisitely beautiful pictures.” (
November 18th, 2014 at 1:26:35 PM permalink
Nareed
Threads: 346
Quote: FrGamble