In The News Today...

Thread Rating:

July 4th, 2019 at 3:37:04 AM permalink
odiousgambit
Threads: 154
Quote: AZDuffman
As a former pro, I can offer some advice. The best stuff was taken off the market, for no reason but that is that. "Spray" doesn't do much. You need boric acid or some other kind of powder. You are best to go just before dawn, when it is coolest but not light. You need the right tools. You use "spray" to freeze the sentries at the entrance. Then you pump as much boric acid, or whatever the latest powder on the market may be, into the hole. You need a long, heavy object to tear the nest apart. Galvanized 1/2" pipe ideal for bigger nests.

Spray the hole, load it with dust, tear the nest apart, run like hell. Get 15-20 yards away. They will scatter, then sort of swarm to where the nest used to be. Then they will slowly disappear, gone forever. They cannot recover.

You are best to watch for nests forming right now. They start slow, then growth goes parabolic in mid-August. That was when we made fast cash. Woman called husband at work. Husband called us. We quote, $150-250. He says, "Anything, just KHOMA!" We get there and done in less than an hour or so.

Just writing it makes me want to get in the biz again, just for that season!
I can say from experience for even rather large paper nest types like this ...
... that spray works just fine, just have to observe the dawn or dusk rule. I would think you'd agree with that, so it makes me wonder what kind of wasp nests in your area called for different technique? Or was this when you lived elsewhere? I guess you may be referring to this type of hornets nest , which I've never tackled...
I'm Still Standing, Yeah, Yeah, Yeah [it's an old guy chant for me]
July 4th, 2019 at 3:50:21 AM permalink
AZDuffman
Threads: 135
Quote: odiousgambit

Second type. First type if it is small enough we would just scrape it off.
The President is a fink.
July 4th, 2019 at 3:54:51 AM permalink
odiousgambit
Threads: 154