The Side Hustle Thread (split from Bees with AZD)

November 2nd, 2015 at 11:38:25 AM permalink
Face
Threads: 61
Thanks in part to RonC, I am a card carrying official for USAHockey now. Just had my first game yesterday.

It was very weird. I've been playing hockey regularly for 22 years now, 17 of which have been on the ice with the same team since '98. My first day in the stripes was in this same rink... and it was tough! Despite the fact that I'm savvy with the rule book and know even the obscure rules, it was much harder than I thought to control the game as opposed to just getting into watching it. In fact, it was even a struggle to not get involved. Every time a puck was sent up the boards, I had to physically tense up to resist the urge to kick it back lol. It was akin to allowing someone to throw something at your face. Every fibre of your being tells you to duck or block it, but you have to resist. It was almost identical. Very weird stuff.

It was hard to overcome the fandom, too. Despite that my main goal in this was money, I do plan to do the job to the utmost. That means being an ambassador to the sport, as well as being a model and teacher for the younger players. Put simply, I am a fan, and being in the midst of it, it was really hard to observe the game without focusing directly on the play. Depending where I am at the time, my responsibilities could be as far back as the slot or even the neutral zone despite the puck being in deep, and the majority of the time I just couldn't fight it. I couldn't help but to watch.

That all being said, it did go pretty well. My officiating partner just happened to be the father of Ash's childhood best friend, as well as my former defensive partner. If that don't beat all, he is also the scheduler for this area. There's my "in", and I am now stuffed with double headers every weekend.